Mind Body Soul Surf BaliMind Body Soul Surf Bali

Testimonials

“Perfect Retreat”

My surfing and Yogaretreat was just great! After a delicious breakfast (different every day ) we had every morning a great surfing lesson with excellent and funny instructors – so that we could analyze our progress to the next day very well at breakfast and the great love J has everything detained. The accommodation was beautiful, clean and well maintained and everyone was super nice. I have felt very good (big thanks to Sarah) – simply GREAT !!

Natalie – Switzerland – Stayed October  2017
DSC04594
“Surf and Yoga Retreat”

Nothing but great things to say about my time in Bali with MBS Surf Bali – it will be a memorable trip!

This started out as a solo trip, with my sister later on deciding to join as well. We had so much fun!

The location of the villa was great – close to the beach, many shops, restaurants, cafes and lounges. Everything was spotlessly clean and comfortable, including the outside facilities such as the pool and dining area. So peacefully relaxing after a day of surfing! I thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts prepared each morning for us, they were filling and delicious. We also enjoyed two Balinese-inspired dinners on two evenings in the villa with Sarah and Jana, they were also delicious! Basically all the food in Bali is amazing.

I was very happy to see that the schedule included surfing each day, perfectly spaced by yoga classes with Kirsten to attend to sore spots and free afternoons everyday. Deduck was awesome as a coach, so much so that I set up another two lessons in my travels after the retreat :) I loved that Jana came with us each day to capture our surfing on camera and then reviewed all the pictures the following morning at breakfast. Such a great idea. Sarah would kindly help us figure out where to visit and sightsee in our free time, also arranging our drivers.

Overall this was an amazing adventure in Bali and so happy I found MBS for this experience. The whole team was amazing and kind and left such a great impression on everything Bali-related! I will hopefully be back in the near future and would highly recommend a retreat with MBS any day!

Kristi – Canada – Stayed September  2017
“Surf Retreat”
I decided to join my sister on an unforgettable surf adventure in Bali and because of MBS I am so glad I did! Sarah, Dudek, Jana and the whole team were amazing from the time we arrived until we left. The villa was a beautiful, spotlessly clean little escape which made it easy to unwind and relax after a day in the sun and waves.The surf instruction was the best I’ve received as Dudek was encouraging, positive and a blast in the water. Sarah was kind enough to arrange drivers for our day trips, transfers from hotels and airport as well as helping us plan our week. Jana accompanied us for breakfast each morning and on all of our surfing adventures and was kind enough to capture our surfing adventures on camera each day. The villa is located in a great location with many lounges, restaurants, shops, the beach, and entertainment right at our doorstep. I also loved that MBS is run by locals and you will not only learn how to surf, but with MBS you also get the opportunity to experience true Balinese cuisine as well as have the opportunity to learn about the culture.I can’t forget to mention that the yoga was great, straightforward and I loved the scientific twist rather than spiritual that our instructor offered.I wish I could remember her name as she was such a lovely and informative lady! We had such a great time that we are already planning on returning next year. Thanks to the whole team for an unbelievable week in paradise :)
Carly – Canada – Stayed September  2017
“Unforgettable Trip”
Thank you Sarah and Deduk for the unbelievably fun and memorable trip where we were mentally and physically challenged daily (in the best possible way) and met the coolest girls to hangout with from all over the world. Sarah your attention to detail and warmth is amazing. Deduk your patience and humor in teaching me how to surf will always be remembered – I felt 100 percent safe and had so much fun every day.
Tian – USA – Stayed April  2017, traveled alone
“Wish I Was Back There Now”
Words can’t describe how much I loved my time with these people and this place. I am learning to surf and within 5 days was up tackling real waves on a shorter board. the instructors were fun, smiling, not aggressive but pushed us to get after it even when we didn’t think we could. I always felt safe and comfortable. The villa was quiet and lovely and so comfy. The food was amazing! I went with a friend and met three other phenomenal, fun, professional women. Honestly can’t wait to go back!
Jessica – USA – Stayed April  2017, traveled alone
“Filled with Peace”

Our surfing week adventure was amazing! The villa was absolutely beautiful. Our guides were all fantastic. The people of Bali could not have been more kind. I would go again in a heartbeat. The sites we visited were breathtaking.

- USA – Reviewed  February 2017, traveled alone
“Fantastic week”
I was curious to travel alone and was enticed by this retreat. It was a wonderful experience. We were so pampered in the villa and the team, so I can only give the best recommendations! I was totally beginner in surfing and it felt safe with Deduk as teachers. The combination of surf and yoga was perfect!
Christina – Sweden – Stayed November 2016, traveled alone

An amazing retreat!

This is the first retreat that I tried and it will be hard to top it up :) I went with my sister and we were both in need of a relaxing time and this what we had. We are both beginners for surfing and yoga and we had a fantastic time at both. Elie (the yoga instructor) was amazing and always tailored the class to our needs and Deduk (the surf instructor) managed to get us standing up on the board by the first day (no small feat). We stayed in a beautiful villa with our own swimming pool and were so well taken care of by the staff. Sarah made sure that we had a perfect week :) And I should not forget Maud, who not also took great pictures of our surfing but also was so incredibly knowledgeable of the Bali culture. It was an amazing week and a huge thank you to all the MBS Surf Bali team, we will be back and very soon! :)

Tania – Stayed November 2016, traveled with family

Another exceptional retreat!

I’m so grateful to have experienced another impressive retreat with MBS. I booked the basics package and had exciting surf lessons with Deduk and found renewal through my yoga practice. The villa was gorgeous with beautifully appointed details and the meals were healthy and delicious. There was a nice flow to the week’s itinerary leaving enough time to relax, discover the surroundings and indulge in amazing spa treatments. We had one day off and enjoyed an incredible trip to a few beaches in southern Bali. The whole team at MBS make you feel comfortable and are very supportive. Nothing is too much trouble. They proved again that their genuine caring nature and love for what they do keeps this retreat experience magical. Go and have an amazing time! You will come back with a new found confidence and feel more balanced and inspired!

 

Sheila – USA – Stayed  october 2016 

“Everything was taken care of, what an excellent week”

I had the most amazing time with MBS. We were put up in the most beautiful villa, and everything we wanted or didn’t even know we wanted was organized to perfection for us. All we had to do was relax and enjoy our time. Our surf instruction was excellent, I had no experience and was supported and had a ton of fun. Every interaction we had was focused around ensuring that we were having a fabulous time. Do a week with MBS, you will absolutely love it…I can’t wait to go back.

 

Cassie – Canada – Stayed  April 2016 – traveled with friends

DSC_0917

“Wonderful week of surfing”

I had an absolutely fantastic week with MBS in Bali. Myself and a friend opted for the Soul Surf Basic and even though it was the ‘budget’ option, at no point did Sarah or the rest of the team make us feel like anything less than VIP. We stayed at a beautiful, super clean, private villa in Seminyak that felt like an oasis. Our breakfasts, as well as our two included dinners, were delicious. They arranged a relaxing and engaging tour for us on our day off. The surfing was so much fun. We were both beginners, but were both able to stand up on the board by the end of the first lesson and I was able to catch a green wave on my own by the end of the week. We got to try surfing at a variety of beaches, with different conditions. Surfing was a new challenge for me, but with Deduk’s help it was such a wonderful, positive experience. He’s patient, gentle and has a great sense of humour. After the week I felt so much more confident and comfortable in the water and on the board. Maud was such a delight to have, as our photographer and to help us feel comfortable both in and out of the water. Our yoga was such a great complement to surf and the instructor (I don’t want to spell her name incorrectly so I won’t even try) was also a surfer so she was able to commiserate with our sore muscles and she geared the classes to help with our surfing. She was so friendly and funny and as someone who practices yoga regularly, she was a great knowledgeable instructor. Everyone took such good care of us, I have never stayed anywhere with such attention to detail and amazing customer service. Sarah even helped us plan our itinerary for when we left MBS, with great suggestions for day trips, restaurants and activities – she even booked an activity for us the day before to save us the effort. The entire week was such a great experience, with genuinely passionate and caring people who do an amazing job. I absolutely recommend MBS and am already scheming of ways to come back for another week of surf, yoga and fun.

Erin – Canada – Stayed  March 2016 – travelled with friends

DSC_1464

“Enjoyable and relaxing week”

I had the most amazing week in Bali with MBS – where do I begin?
I travelled alone to a “Back to Basics” retreat with a little bit of trepidation about what the experience would be like by myself. I need not have worried. From the start I was looked after in all aspects of the trip.
My original flight was cancelled and then my next flight delayed, so I ended up arriving at 3am in the morning! Sarah stayed in contact throughout the whole time and still arranged to have a driver ready to pick me up from the airport. I was so thankful.
The villa was amazing in Seminyak – close to everything, but nice and quiet. I had my own room and space and could also still socialise with the other guests. The other surf sisters on the retreat were great and it was a nice of mix of doing things together – daily surfing, yoga in the villa garden, spa treatments, dinners – and then also having some much needed “me time”.
The “Back to Basics” package did not include all meals so you could experience the local cuisine; however the best meal of the day was by far the amazing wholefood breakfast to fuel up before a surf. We were also treated to 2 balinese dinners cooked in the villa by a private chef. I was even more spoiled on the day that I celebrated my birthday.
On the surfing side, Deduk and Desu were the best coaches who really pushed me to get better at what I needed to focus on. After 5 days of surfing, I was confident and catching my own green waves!
I had such a wonderful time that I plan to visit again sometime in the future. Thankyou Sarah and all of the team for such a great experience!

Lyndall – Australia – Reviewed  August 2015

DSC_0821

“Relaxed from an amazing week”

It was an absolute pleasure to spend a week with the team at MBS Bali. If you’re thinking about doing a retreat in Bali and researching MBS Bali – Do it! It was an incredibly relaxing and memorable holiday. It totally exceeded my expectations and I felt incredibly cared for and well looked after. Sarah and Deduk are lovely genuine people who really enjoy what they do and sharing beautiful Bali with visitors. As such, they make wonderful hosts.
As a solo traveller I felt very safe and welcomed. At the retreat I met some fantastic like-minded woman who I really enjoyed surfing with. Unlike my fellow surf-sisters at the retreat; I wasn’t up on the board on day 1, but I did get up (in my own time) and felt that amazing buzz of surfing a wave.
Im now hankering for the NZ summer to arrive to get back out in the water and practice my ‘pop up’.
The accommodation was really comfortable and I’ve never eaten so well! Every meal was tasty and nourishing. I returned from my holiday in Bali feeling relaxed and buzzing from my amazing experience with Mind Body Soul Bali.

Brigid – New Zealand – Reviewed  August 2015

image12

“A Wonderful Time out”

Thank you Sarah and the MBS team for the time out you gave me. It was a perfect way to start My vacation and I loved to learn how to surf. Desu and Deduk were great surf instructors! plus the combination with yoga and relaxing time make the whole experience complete. Food was amazing as well. Can only wish any woman who wants to go beyond their life style to apply for the next retreat now!
Take care and see you next time because I’ll come back surfing for sure! :)

Marie- Charlotte – France – Reviewed  July 2015

image9

“Mother Daughter Magical Adventure of a Lifetime”

I wholeheartedly agree with all of the excellent reviews given previously. My week with MBS was magical and truly memorable. I went with my daughter who is an experienced surfer; I am pretty much a novice although I have surfed in the past. The instructors were absolutely fantastic and so much fun to hang with before and after surfing. I am amazed at how well I did, all due to the patience and skill of the instructors. The yoga sessions were in the evening and thus were relaxing and restorative. We surfed at a beautiful Canggu surf spot; even the drive there was through breathtaking rice paddies. The food was delicious- our chef, Wayan, cooked amazing breakfasts, lunches, and dinners daily, adjusting the meals to our individual preferences. The table setting gorgeous every night. The villa was spacious, bright, and clean. Sarah and Deduk, the hosts, took care of every detail. Sarah shared her wealth of knowledge of Balinese culture and life, something I could not have learned if we had stayed in a hotel. Deduk took incredible surf photos of us every morning, and even carefully packed up a large fragile item my daughter had purchased so we could check it at the airport. For our free day, Sarah arranged a snorkeling trip where we swam with Manta Rays, and drift snorkeled through the most beautiful coral reef teeming with life- I can’t even begin to describe how magical it was. I highly recommend you book an MBS retreat as soon as you can.

Joanne – USA – Reviewed  July 2015

DCIM100GOPRO

“Ultimate Bliss”

Wow! Wow! Wow! I’m in a state of Ultimate Bliss after my retreat with MBS Surf Bali. This retreat is amazing, my experience transforming. A truly magical time. I chose MBS because of the holistic offering of yoga, surfing and spa treatments. I needed to let go of the past and revive myself for the next chapter of my life. MBS was the perfect retreat to meet my needs and achieve my goals. The host went above and beyond to make us comfortable and to ensure we were each experiencing all we had hoped for. The surfing locations were beautiful and the surf instructors tailored our sessions to our individual skill and comfort levels. So kind and patient. We had a variety of boards to choose from each day to match with the swell conditions and our physical condition of the day. I loved the heart-opening yoga practice – it was as if the yoga instructor could read my mind and knew exactly what my body and soul needed. I have never felt so pampered as I did with the spa treatments…The Ultimate Bliss package was incredible and I highly recommend it. To top it off the food was decadently delicious…so colorful and flavorful. The villa was very comfortable, tranquil and sparkling clean. Our group went on the cultural day and loved the guided bike ride through the villages and shopping in Ubud. I always felt safe and well taken care of. I can’t express enough how
magical my experience was.

Cynthia – USA – Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends

cynthia

“Bali Bliss…..”

Do not think twice about booking this retreat. I have been to others in other countries but this experience was magical, life changing and exceeded all expectations. The host was warm and welcoming from the start and truly cares about each individual and their experience. The surf instruction and equipment was spectacular. I came home a better and more experienced surfer. The yoga was an amazing complement to the surfing. A great way to begin or end your day. The spa treatments, divine and plentiful. The food, delicious. Each meal was a culinary treat. The villa, beautiful, comfortable and sparkling clean. And finally, the culture day made the whole experience complete. To see the countryside and how the Balinese live outside of the city was inspiring. I will dream of this adventure for years to come and cannot wait to return to MBS Surf Bali.

Cathy – USA – Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends

cathy

“Amazing experience!”

My vacation with the MBS Surf Bali retreat was one of the best weeks I’ve ever had. Great service, amazing food, and fun activities. The surf lessons were fun, challenging, exhausting, and life changing. It was nice to have the yoga and spa treatments come right to the villa. I’m so glad I found MBS Surf Bali!

Patti – USA – Reviewed  May 2015

3

Best week EVER – surfing and yoga fun with peaceful reflection

A magical week spent with MBS Surf Bali. From the warmest welcome by the team at the start I knew this was going to be a life changing retreat. Very high quality accommodation, such a beautiful villa – and our retreat leader really has thought of everything you may need.

It’s all about the little touches, from the complimentary surf lycra and customised water canister to the box of ‘everything you may need’ including insect repellent, sun screen and surf board wax..! Each day we were treated to world class food in a multitude of styles, and were given beautiful little gifts and cards with inspirational quotes – these mostly made me cry as they always seemed to be what I needed to hear!

Even if you are nervous about surfing it’s absolutely fine, the team are more than used to helping people who are complete beginners and are very sensitive to everyone’s needs. I felt like we were taken care of in a truly fantastic way, and much more than I was expecting. Our retreat leader and the team are so open, friendly and are genuinely there to help with any questions or issues you may have.

Like a home from home – HIGHLY recommended!!

Liz – London UK – Reviewed December 2014

liz

A life changing experience – MUST DO!

This was the most incredible vacation I’ve ever had which is truly saying alot because it’s one of only a handful that I’ve been on as a solo traveler.

I have never tried surfing before and I was able to stand up on day 1! Such an incredible sense of accomplishment thanks to Deduk and the Double D surf instructors. I was pretty apprehensive about the surfing part but it’s been on my bucket list for years and I couldn’t be more happy that I shared the experience with MBS Surf Bali and Double D. The guys at Double D were super helpful and attentive and most of all they made it incredibly fun! I can’t praise them enough for making my 5 day surfing experience more enjoyable.

As for the rest of the trip – I don’t think I could ever do the week justice in a write-up. It was nothing short of amazing, incredible and lovely. S is the best – so helpful and eager to make your experience the best it can possibly be. Nothing is too difficult of a request including reikki session bookings, tattoo artist recommendations and wine delivery :)  Also, S and Deduk are so candid and warm, incredibly easy to talk to and share experiences with. I truly felt at home in the villa.

The villa staff were equally as accomodating, ready to make you coffee and always serving us incredible meals. It was such a nice change from Hong Kong food to eat healthy yet delicious meals! I am now missing the meals just thinking about it!

Another aspect of the retreat that I absolutely loved was a sense of really feeling like you’re embracing the culture. You would never get this experience staying at a resort. You really get to know people who live in Bali and to me that was a real treat.

As for the other ladies on the trip – I feel so lucky to have met such amazing people. Everyone got along so well. I think it helps that the ladies that attend this trip all share similar specific interests – adventurous, outdoorsy and fun to name a few…..Our retreat leader was happy to make reservations for a few nights out for us and we all went out together and had a fantastic time!

Anyways, I could go on and on but don’t want to ruin all the surprises for the ladies that have yet to go. If you’re looking for the best girls vacation of your life then you cannot miss out on MBS Surf Bali. Thank you Retreat leader, Deduk and my fellow villa-mates for an incredible week…xoxo

Jill – Hong Kong – Reviewed November 2014

jill

What an OUTSTANDING holiday! Loved it ALL!

Thank you so much to the team at MBS Surf Bali for making the week better than I could have imagined. Retreat leader and Deduk ensured that each of us felt at home and nothing (truly nothing) was too much trouble for them. If you are thinking of doing a retreat in Bali, want to learn to surf, or simply want to have an amazing week…stop looking and please book with MBS Surf Bali. You won’t regret it!:)

Villa – The villa was gorgeous and each of the rooms amazing. My sister and I shared a king-size room with a beautiful outdoor shower (I especially loved all the little treats and positive words we received when our rooms were made up each day). The villa itself had a pool, deck area with a large relaxing day bed and reclining deck chairs, a grassed area perfect for our yoga sessions and a large kitchen, dining and relaxing area. It was also in an excellent location, simply a short walk to the main area of Seminyak.

Surfing – The surfing was my favourite part. The boys at Double D surf school were the best. I’ve done a few surf lessons before (I teach PE so have taken kids out many times), but none have compared to these guys. I went from barely catching waves in the white wash to actually being able to catch a wave in the green water on my own. The boys were so supportive and knowledgeable, and also took us to different beaches depending on our ability levels and the conditions on the day.

Food – Possibly equally my favourite part. The food provided at the villa was breathtaking (and every meal was a great photo opportunity). We had three course, healthy, delicious meals to look forward to each day. A large coconut to come back to straight after a morning surf was brilliant. Our retreat leader was also so helpful in booking us into a amazing restaurants so that we could go out together and enjoy some of the best food Bali has to offer.

Yoga & Spa Treatments – The yoga was fun, challenging and a great way to stretch out after all the surfing. It was catered to our ability levels, but also to how we were feeling on the day. The spa treatments were also excellent. We were able to pick anything we liked on the day. I had three varieties of massages which were terrific, but I know the other girls had facials, hair treatments and pedicures too.

Other – There were also some extra things that were a really beautiful touch:
– Chocolate Cooking Class (healthy chocolate of course)
– Learning about the Balinese culture and their offerings
– Balinese coffee….hmm, so good
– Transport to and from the villa
– Photos of our surfing experience
– Box of goodies including extra sunscreen, bug spray, lip balm (and anything else you needed)
– Love my rash vest, sarong, water bottle and bag
– Booking in Reiki sessions for us
– Making friends with fantastic people from all over the world
– Helping my sister find accommodation for the following week that she was staying

Thanks again guys!! I can’t wait to come back to Bali to catch up with you all! Airlie xxx

Airlie – Australia – Reviewed November 2014

airlie

The best week

My week with MBS Surf Bali was more than I could have imagined. Our retreat leader and Deduk are very warm, kind and generous. S is the perfect host, and nothing is too much trouble, so you are left to simply enjoy your time.

Deduk and the surfing instructors at Double D are great. They make learning to surf such a fun experience. They are very encouraging and without it being stressful or worrying you are soon out there in the green water feeling great and having fun. The villa staff are wonderful, cooking us beautiful, delicious and healthy meals and catering to our needs. The yoga sessions are tailored to help you prepare for surfing and the instructor works with how you are feeling.

There are so many little thoughtful touches and gestures included in the week that make you feel special. It’s a full week – yoga, surfing, eating, relaxing by the pool, shopping, pampering – but nothing feels rushed. The villa is beautiful and you instantly feel at home. It’s nice to have two nights to eat out at fabulous restaurants that our retreat leader can recommend.

I took the deluxe package and the spa I visited was amazing, and the treatment so pampering. I came back floating. This trip was a real treat for me and the whole experience was a very special one that will stay with me. Our retreat leader and Deduk are happy to share as much about their lives and Bali as you’re interested to learn about. I really felt I experienced Balinese culture and gained an appreciation of how special this place is. I can’t end without mentioning the lovely company of the other five women on the retreat.

If you are thinking about a surfing, yoga retreat I would say do this one with MBS Surf Bali. I loved it and my friends tell me I returned ‘glowing’. Thank you so much.

Adriana – Australia – Reviewed October 2014

adriana

The most AMAZING week of my life!

What better way to spend a week in a beautiful place like Seminyak than with a small group of lovely ladies in an amazing villa. The week was so cleverly and brilliantly organised! I’m one who loves structure and organisation and our retreat leader managed to pull this off brilliantly without it being “too structured” at the same time. We all felt so at home and comfortable in this lovely villa. I’ve never been lucky enough to stay anywhere that has such beautiful bedrooms, bathrooms, an outdoor kitchen and eating area, outdoor lounge and the pool.

The FOOD that was provided for us was out of this world. Every meal was amazing and always ready on time (sometimes we were late, oopsie). I’m a big foodie and I found everything everyday to be amazingly presented and very tasteful. Everyone involved at the villa takes a real care for you and really does everything they can to accommodate your needs.

Now for the SURFING, which would have to be one of the best experiences I’ve ever had. Deduk and the other boys taught me how to surf!! Ive had a few surfing lessons before but nothing like these ones, the boys really care for you and because you are in such a small group its a lot more focused on actually making sure you get up on that board. They also make you feel super comfortable out there which I think is the most important part. I can now surf by myself which was the aim of the week!!

I just want to say a massive thank you to the MBS team for the amazing week I got to have with my sister! It’s one we will never forget! Thank you:)

Ashley – Australia-Reviewed October 2014

asley

Amazing!€

Everything about this experience was fantastic. The villa was incredible, the food was sensational (and did an amazing job of catering to my gluten and dairy free request!) and the people were amazing. I made far more progress than I expected with my surfing, and feel I grew so much through sharing experiences with everyone and seeing some of the people S recommended. I would definitely recommend this retreat to anyone, but especially those that need an escape. Thank you Deduk and the team for an awesome week!

Melissa – Australia – Reviewed August 2014
melissa

Incredible week that I never wanted to end

My time at mbss was incredible. I didn’t really know what to expect as I’ve never been to a surf camp. I’ve surfed for most of my life but was in bali on my own so thought it would be a good way to get to know the island and the surf sport. Our retreat leader and Deduk were awesome. They welcomed us into their lives and made us part of it. From going out for dinner,drinks to showing us secret surf spots around the island and just being there to help us with anything at all.

The villa accommodation and staff were second to none. They were so beautiful not to mention the incredible food they prepared for us each day with so much love. Would definitely recommend mbss to anyone wanting to experience Bali, learn to surf, improve their surfing and meet some beautiful people. Thanks you mbss for the most beautiful week of my life;) Fiona from Australia.

Fiona – Australia – Reviewed July 2014

fiona

MBSS Mother and 2 Daughters Surf Retreat

Deduk and staff make a wonderful team, so friendly, charming and helpful (with lots of encouragement in the surf!). Villa Suku is a delightful, elegant, yet homely setting, tucked away from busy Seminyak €“ a peaceful space after surf lessons and interesting outings. We always looked forward to the delicious, healthy, colourful and beautifully presented meals, and appreciated the care taken to cater for food intolerances, and care of our room. Thanks also for the surprise gifts, thought for today cards, woven foliage creations, massages and demonstrations for making offering baskets and raw chocolate. A busy week of happy memories.

Maryann – New Zealand – Reviewed June 2014

maryan

Everything I needed and so much more – retreat April 2014

I stayed with Mind Body Soul – Surf Bali and had the most amazing holiday. I’ve been to Bali 5 times over 22 years and hadn’t experienced the real Bali until now. MBS is Balinese owned (the only one of this type) and Balinese and Internationally operated. Our retreat leader and Deduk were fantastic! Everything I could need or want was catered to. Travelling alone, they made sure I never felt alone, in fact every day was jam packed with things to do.

The villa I stayed in was beautiful, the food to die for, the in villa staff were wonderful, learning to surf at different beach breaks, yoga in the garden and at Desa Seni, organic meals in villa, a swim at Padang Padang, sunset drinks at Uluwatu, bike rides through villages in Ubud and I was lucky enough to experience a full moon cleansing. I have come back refreshed and planning my next holiday to Bali. With new friends also, I really can’t recommend these guys enough. If you need a break and want to experience the real Bali with a holistic approach to really winding down while enjoying the joys of the day, contact Mind Body Soul – Surf Bali.

Nicole – Australia – Reviewed April 2014

nicole

€“nomen est omen!”

Like the name says, it is a retreat for your mind, body and soul. I really liked my first surfing experience and the challenge of learning something new. Our retreat leader was wonderful! She was always taking care of us, organising everything we were asking for and is a lovely and very professional person. The villa was fantastic, and the staff working there, as well. The food was healthy and delicious. It was the perfect balance of doing sports, relaxing, thinking about yourself and to really give yourself a break of what you are usually doing. She was telling as a lot about Balinese culture and lifestyle, which was so interesting. In addition, she was recommending us great places to shop and to go out. The surfschool was very good as well. The teachers were well experienced and took good care of us. I can really recommend this place and would just do it again!

Patrizia – Switzerland – Reviewed November 2013

pat

There are no words€

I cannot thank the retreat leader  and Deduk enough for the wonderful time I had in Bali. Visiting and surfing Bali was a life-long dream. After battling with sickness earlier in the year, I went on a search for the perfect trip to Bali…and then I found Mind, Body, Soul Surf Bali. I believe it was divine intervention. I could not have wished for a better group of women to spend a week with, nor two more gracious people to take us under their wing and show us all that Bali has to offer. €She and Deduk are warm, caring and welcoming individuals. She had answers for all our questions and can literally make anything happen for you – she hooked me up with an awesome tattoo artist :)

The guys at Double D are likely the most patient teachers on this earth…I’m no easy student. Ellie is probably the best yoga instructor I have ever had. If you’re looking for a place that will feel like home away from home, is immersive in the Balinese culture and can be molded to your own needs, MBS is the place for you. I know I’ll be back!

Paula -California, United States -Reviewed October 28, 2013

paula

Perfect place for body and heart

This trip was the best what my body and my heart could get. After months of working hard, I decided to give myself a chilly week of surfing and relaxing. By chance I found this offer of MBS and booked this trip. Before, during and after my stay at Bali, I could feel the heartiness of S and Deduk as they took care of me in every matter and time. While getting to know the balinese culture, language and food my mind could fully relax and I have to admit that I am totally crazy about surfing now. Thank you, team and Deduk, for this funny and amazing week :-)

Kathrine –  Stuttgart, Germany – Reviewed October 4, 2013

katherine

Perfect trip to rest and relax

This was the perfect last minute trip to rest and relax. I went with some girlfriends and had a wonderful time. We’d been to Bali before but this was soo relaxing because we didn’t have to think of anything! Our retreat leader is always there to look after you – whether that is to book in a dinner reservation (or sunset cocktails!), advise on the best shopping spots or simply call a taxi. We are ‘in’ to fitness and the relaxation of yoga but also enjoy a bit of chocolate and a glass of wine. This is the best retreat because you have the choice of how ‘healthy’ you want to be. The food provided was delicious, healthy and ample (and catered for me, a vegetarian, at each meal – even soy milk!).

The Double D surf school is fanstastic. The staff always made us feel safe out in the water but also how to push us to be better too!€Our yoga instructor was also so professional and experienced. She tailored the program to all of us and it was great to wake up, walk outside the door of your room and onto the yoga mat.
If you’re even considering this – do it, book now. You’ll have an amazing time!!

Robin -Melbourne, Australia – Reviewed September 26, 2013

robyn

Amazing and fun week€

I did a week of surf with Mind body soul surf, beginning of august 2013 . The week was just AMAZING ! Everything was perfect and so much fun. To begin with the surf classes. Deduk is the best teacher you can imagine. He is patient and funny ! I really had a lot of fun and laughed a lot. I liked the surf so much , that back home in France , i am looking already were I could go to practice some surf.

€On top of the marvelous surf in the morning , I had a lot of other special moments. She and Deduk were just perfect in organising the best moments. There was the beautiful temple visit of tanah lot. Deduk organised to go up to pray. That was a beautiful experience. There was the beautiful yoga sesion at Desa seni, the NIA dance class who was one of the most fun dance classes in my live ! And then I didn’t talk yet about the food : our fantastic dinner outings, our daily amazing sandwich after surf … She also organised the best spa treatments and a chakra healing ! It was just a perfect week . A mix of fun, good food, surf , sun , emotions , good talks and spirituality !

Sarah – Paris,France -Reviewed September 22, 2013

sarah

€œBest vacation for girls traveling solo

Our retreat leader and Deduk are so mindful about every single detail! Typical food (you can even see how it’s made), accomodation, individual surf lessons, even the little cards they leave on your bed every day are so right for every moment of the retreat. You will feel pampered, relax, and happy 24/7.

Rosa Lyn – Lima, Peru – Reviewed September 7, 2013

rosa

Seriously wonderful retreat

I went on the retreat with two girlfriends in July this year and we LOVED it. We started every day with yoga at our beautiful villa, then gorged ourselves on an amazing breakfast (we’d earned it!). Each day was a bit different depending on the tides but at some point we would head out for a few hours of surfing with Double D. We were all pretty novice but they had us standing up on our first waves which was so fun. The surfing really is brilliant, and physically tiring – we all were fitter and stringer by the end of the holiday which was a bonus, and we didn’t have to count how many cocktails we were having etiher.

Our spare time was spent getting massages, treatments, shopping and more eating (and cocktails). Our retreat leader is incredible and organised everything for us – nothing was a problem for her, and she was amazingly flexible if we wanted to do anything different. She knew all the great places to eat and happily booked anything for us. She knows where to shop, drink and go for massages – she knows it all and is only too happy to arrange anything you want. She also knows alot about the local culture which is fantastic.These guys are so much fun, and seriously bend over backwards to make sure your trip is exactly what you want. I’ll be back here again for sure.

Anna – Melbourne, Australia – Reviewed August 14, 2013

anna

I will do this again. It was wonderful

I have waited a while to write this review because I don’t know the words to describe how wonderful my experience with Mind Body Soul was. It is so much more than a surf retreat. Our retreat leader and Deduk treated me like a personal guest and took wonderful care to make sure I got what I wanted out of *my* week in Seminyak. They created an environment where I bonded with the other girls in the retreat and also had time for myself to relax and reflect.

I loved the experience and all the people I met so much that I decided to stay for another week and surf with Double D and the new friends I made. I was learning to surf for the first time and with the personal instruction I made a lot of progress in my time there. I felt safe and could decide when I had had enough for the day or if I wanted to spend more time in the water on days where the waves were exceptional.

The private morning yoga session focused on the right things to get our minds and bodies ready for surfing and I loved our teacher. (I loved everyone She and Deduk work with.) I love visiting places where I have a friend to help me get the most out of my time there and have a local experience. She and Deduk provide this for their guests and I had adventures I never would have created on my own. These are the stories I tell my friends. If you have thought about this enough to read the reviews that means you are ready to go.:-)Book this retreat now. Don’t miss the opportunity. You deserve it. Every day I think about going back and I know I will and maybe I will see you there!

Sharon – Washington, United States -Reviewed July 10, 2013

sharon

Surfing heaven

A lot of one on one time with surfing instructors, they are pushing you to get maximum results even if you don’t feel your arms anymore…:) but its an amazing feeling when you get on that wave you were looking to! Got lots of pictures and videos of my surfing time, it’s was brilliant! Amazing yoga teacher, great food, spa treatments and a great introduction into ballinesse culture. It’s a great package to rewind and feel like a goddess, plus our retreat leader is really putting her soul into making this experience amazing…;) thanks guys!

Joanne – Ireland – Reviewed April 13, 2013

joanna

Memorable moments

If you want to really see Bali, try real local food, get to know more about balinese Culture and learn how to surf and deduk will make this experience really memorable. These guys are really friendly and will make sure that you will learn how to surf/ improve your surfing skills, and get pampered in SPA . Thank you guys for really good time.

Illona – Ireland -Reviewed April 5, 2013

ilona

A lifetime experience

These guys are amazing! Learning to surf, learning the Balinese culture and making great friends. The accommodation was beautiful with great staff. I have never met such kind welcoming people. I would highly recommend retreating with these guys if your looking to have a fun and cultural experience. Massive thanks to the team and everyone at double d. You guys are awesome!

Karen – Australia – Reviewed March 10, 2013

karen

Fantastic experience, tremendous customer service, effective coaching

If you’re looking for adventure, fun, sun, friendship, food, relaxation, and super sexy surf arms…then look no further. This retreat is remarkable. Mind Body Soul Surf delivers exactly what the name promises! One of the best experiences I’ve ever had (and I’m a very seasoned traveler).

From the moment they welcomed me to the gorgeous villa, to their warm send off (and every moment in between), our retreat leader  and Deduk and team made me feel like a goddess! They took meticulous care in planning and customizing my Bali experience to challenge my yoga practice, coach me to surf various types of breaks, pamper me with incredible spa treatments, and teach me a tremendous amount about the history, culture & cuisine of Bali. What’s more, they are AWESOME fun to be around. I highly recommend this retreat. I came away with some great friends, a clearer heart and mind, and a stronger body.

Briana -New York, United States – Reviewed January 27, 2013

briana

Everlasting memories

This was my first surf retreat and I had the time of my life!! I enjoyed the beach, surfing and living the true Bali experience with the luxurious spa treatments. There was a perfect balance between all the activities giving me flexibility at the same time. My goal was to improve my surf skills and relax. After a couple days of surfing I was thrilled to make progress and be promoted to a shorter board! Thank you double D! I also loved having my own, custom surf lycra.

The mix of yoga with the surf really brought the relaxation to another level. It was an exceptional experience! Our yoga retreat leader and Deduk made the trip memorable with personal touches and surprises throughout (I won’€™t spoil it)! They were extremely helpful with local insight on what to see and do. I really got to know a great deal about the Balinese culture through the cultural activities and Deduk’€™s personal knowledge.

My new love is delicious Balinese cuisine. Bring on the chili and Babi Guling! One of my favorite parts of the camp was having a good mix of fun in the sun, yoga and having my own time to site-see and go shopping, of course! The people I met were all amazing. The friendships forged during the week will bond us always.I recommend Mind Body Soul Surf Bali to anyone traveling alone or with girlfriends! I look forward to coming back next year!

Sheila – Arizona, United States -Reviewed December 20, 2012

sheila

Best retreat ever!

Ich verbringe jeweils mindestens vier Monate im Jahr in Indonesien & gehe oft surfen. Da ich erst seit drei Jahren surfe, wollte ich unbedingt wieder einmal einen Surfguide buchen. Die Möglichkeit von Mind Body Soul Surf Bali Retreat mit einem all-in-one Erlebnis (Surfguide, Yoga, Kulturtrips, Spa, Essen usw.) hat mich sehr angesprochen. Es gibt nichts schöneres als nach 90 Minuten Yoga am morgen früh in die Wellen zu steigen & den Tag mit einem Spa treatment & anschliessendem sunset drink ausklingen zu lassen. Die Woche hat mir wahnsinnig gut gefallen & ich konnte wunderschöne Begegnungen mit nach Hause nehmen. Absolut empfehlenswert für alle die ihre Seele einfach mal baumeln lassen wollen & dennoch sportlich gefordert werden möchten. Grosses Dankeschön an S & Deduk, die super geniale double d Surfschool & Emma (best yoga teacher ever).

Carla – Zug, Switzerland – Reviewed June 29, 2013

carla

QUICK ENQUIRY




Enter the code: captcha


REVIEWS

GET SOCIAL WITH US

Subscribe to our NEWSLETTER:

join

INSTAGRAM

  • Retreat villa views  mbssurfbaliretreat on this beautiful sunny day
  • Soul food mbssurfbaliretreat Our breakfast menu is so goooood! nourishyourbodyhellip
  • Laughing is the best medicine natiabg having a blast learninghellip
  • Be Inspired  Repeat after me Something wonderful is abouthellip
  • Sunday vibes
  • Balinese ceremony procession  Seminyak Beach one of our localhellip
  • Trying a head stand for the first time after thehellip
  • Taking a surf break
  • Be Inspired  Authenticity is priceless  Just a littlehellip